Please, Virginia … STOP TRUMP on Super Tuesday

Stop signBy Lynn R. Mitchell

Virginia’s presidential primary is Tuesday — Super Tuesday — when 12 states vote and

I begged the voters of South Carolina’s primary on February 20 to please be the firewall that stopped Donald Trump but they overwhelming voted for him. Next up was Nevada … same story.

We keep hearing Trump supporters are angry!

From the wisdom of Yoda: “Fear is the path to the dark side…fear leads to anger…anger leads to hate…hate leads to suffering.” Or, in the words of Aristotle: “The law is reason free from passion.”

Can Virginians end the madness? Please stop Trump!

#NeverTrump #StopTrump #DumpTrump

 

Some news clips that I have been sharing on my Facebook page:

From an Anglican priest: “I believe that Donald Trump holds and proclaims racist, sexist, and violent attitudes that are in direct opposition to the Christian message, and to the good of our nation. … I disagree with all the candidates on certain issues. My opposition to him is not about his political party or his political beliefs; this is about his character.”

This Isn’t Funny Anymore: Why I’m Voting Against Donald Trump My name is Thomas McKenzie. I’m an Anglican priest, and the pastor of a congregation. I speak here on…

 

I looked back at my blog posts since Trump announced in June 2015. Some of us have not been quiet in our concern about him….

By Lynn R. Mitchell. The calls for someone to do something to stop Donald Trump are suddenly ramping up now that the GOP presidential front runner has…

I wrote this article in October 2015. It began: “Have you ever watched the 2006 movie, ‘Man of the Year’? It starred Robin Williams who played a satirical host of a political talk show named Tom Dobbs who ran as a populist for President of the United States, and unexpectedly won. Sound familiar? An entertainer running for president … imagine that. We are now living the movie….”

By Lynn R. Mitchell, Have you ever watched the 2006 movie, “Man of the Year”? It starred Robin Williams….
At stake is something far more precious than the future of the Republican Party.

“You say you want the truth. … Personally, I think you’re lying, and I’m going to test my theory. In fact, I believe I’ve already proven my theory because you’re now offended that I called you a liar.

“But Trump has called half of the Earth’s population a liar at some point over the past seven months, and you loved every second of it. You said you loved it not out of cruelty or spite, but out of admiration for a man who’s willing to call people liars — even if he’s lying when he does it.

“Yet here I am employing the same tactic — accurately, I might add — and you recoil indignantly. Over the course of this campaign season I’ve said many harsh words about you and your leader, all of which I stand by, but you’ve never respected my harsh words, or the harsh words of any Trump critic. Indeed, you insist that our tough criticism of you only vindicates your support of Trump, while Trump’s vulgar and dishonest criticism of everyone else also vindicates your support of Trump. You’re tired of people being critical, but you love Trump because he’s critical. You say you like Trump for his style, but you hate his style when it’s directed at him or you.”

Read the article … the author nails it. Again and again and again.

Dear Donald Trump Fan, I’m going to tell you the truth, friend. You say you want the truth. You say you want someone who speaks boldly and brashly and bluntly and…

This. This is yet another reason why I cannot understand the evangelical support for Donald Trump.

From Max Lucado: “I don’t know Mr. Trump. But I’ve been chagrined at his antics. He ridiculed a war hero. He made mockery of a reporter’s menstrual cycle. He made fun of a disabled reporter. He referred to the former first lady, Barbara Bush as ‘mommy,’ and belittled Jeb Bush for bringing her on the campaign trail. He routinely calls people ‘stupid,’ ‘loser,’ and ‘dummy.’ These were not off-line, backstage, overheard, not-to-be-repeated comments. They were publicly and intentionally tweeted, recorded, and presented.”

As the father of three daughters, I reserved the right to interview their dates. Seemed only fair to me. After all, my wife and I’d spent 16 or 17 years feeding them, dressing them, funding braces, and driving them to volleyball tournaments and piano recitals.…
His philosophy embraces a double standard of un-American nastiness.
Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

SBC Voices

Southern Baptist News & Opinion

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

LynnRMitchell.com

Virginia politics and more

