The Road Home is West Toward the Mountains and Setting Sun

I have a love affair with the mountains that began years ago. While driving the back country road toward home this evening, I snapped a photo of the setting sun behind the Appalachians west of Staunton, and smiled.

I love where I live.

Throughout the years there has been camping. Hiking. Picnicking. Leisurely drives along the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive. Snow skiing Wintergreen. Wading in creeks. Swimming in mountain lakes. Snowtubing at Massanutten. Sharing my mountain love with my children, and taking them to the places I knew as a child.

I never tire of the beauty, one of the lucky ones to live in the shadow of the Blue Ridge and Appalachians. And at the end of the day, I can rock on the porch or sit on the garden bench and look out over the sweet Virginia landscape, and be grateful for where I live.

My love affair with the mountains continues, and probably always will….

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

LynnRMitchell.com

Virginia politics and more

