Mr. Candy Corn Goes to Richmond

IMG_5569 (2)

This is Mr. Candy Corn standing at my front door ready to go to Richmond. But first a little background….

In the autumn of 2016 my sister Lori spied this little fella at Blue Ribbon Nursery in Broadway as he stood amongst the fall and Halloween wreaths and décor. He was cute and she like him but we ended up leaving him behind.

Fast forward to autumn 2017. Lori hasn’t been able to come up to the Shenandoah Valley to chase autumn like we did last year so my friend Barb and I went traipsing through the countryside in September, buying chrysanthemums, pumpkins, gourds, and other autumn décor.

When we walked into Blue Ribbon, there was Mr. Candy Corn, again standing amongst the holiday decorations. I excitedly said hello to him and told Barb about Lori’s attachment last year. As I wandered through the aisles looking at the holiday goodies, my eyes kept seeking out Mr. Candy Corn.

And that’s how he went home with me. I just had to get him for Lori, and so he rode back to Staunton with Barb and me, sitting on the back seat like a proper Candy Corn, excitedly watching the view out the window.

When my sister, her husband, and daughter Emily went to New York City for a week in early September, I loaded Mr. Candy Corn in the car to take him to his new forever home.

Here he was at my front door ready to go!

IMG_5572 (2)

He paused on the steps for me to take pictures …

IMG_5573 (2)

IMG_5574 (2)

… and then headed down the sidewalk to the Rogue for his drive over the mountain to the flatlands of Richmond.

IMG_5577 (2)

Hopping into the back seat, he settled on my suitcase so to have a better view out the window. He was excited about where he was going.

IMG_5578 (2)

IMG_5595 (2)

His journey took him on I-64 over Afton Mountain, past Charlottesville where Emily is fourth year at UVa, all the way to Richmond to 288.

IMG_5606 (2)

IMG_5613 (2)

On 288 …

IMG_5618 (2)

IMG_5621 (2)

… and over the James River, the mighty mighty James. Did you know the English settlers names it after King James I of England? Historical trivia is a part of the beauty of growing up in the Commonwealth, walking in the footsteps of history.

IMG_5623 (2)

… to Powhatan County and Robious Road. Almost there! The name “Huguenot Trail” on the sign comes from the French Huguenots who settled in Midlothian and Powhatan. I graduated from Huguenot High School in Chesterfield County. These are my stomping grounds.

IMG_5639 (2)

Finally! Midlothian and Lori’s neighborhood. He was almost to his new home. Did you know they began mining coal in Mid-Lothian 300 years ago, and that it was used by President Thomas Jefferson to heat the White House? The area is populated by abandoned mines.

IMG_5641 (2)

When we pulled in the driveway, Mr. Candy Corn was so excited that he hopped out and went immediately to the back door. I had to tell him to go around front …

IMG_5643 (2)IMG_5645 (2)

… to the front door. This was his new home!

IMG_5651 (2)

Inside his new home! He was there to bring happy Halloween tidings to Lori, Jon, and Emily … oh, and Mila the cat!

IMG_5649 (2)

As he hopped on the kitchen counter to wait for their return, we left some Augusta County-grown mini pumpkins and gourds — a taste of autumn from the mountains. Mr. Candy Corn was home at last, and he has been greeting visitors ever since.

Photos by Lynn R. Mitchell
October 4, 2017

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Mr. Candy Corn Goes to Richmond

  1. Eula Lucy says:

    Hi Lynn: I have been enjoying reading about your Halloween visitors and other events. This is a great blog! I had never heard about Mr. Candy Corn and his trip to his new home at Lori’s house. As always, you and Barb had a wonderful trip! I read, again, about you and me taking the trip to the Farmer’s Market in 2014 and the fun we had touring the town – from one end to the other, while you took pictures of the lovely homes. It seems like only yesterday that we did it. It all brought back so many memories and tears to my eyes.

    I loved all of those trips we took over the years and thank you for the pleasure they still bring to me, even now. I am so thankful that my memory bank is still working!

    Love and many, many thanks, Lynn, for all that you mean to me and have done for me. Mom

  2. Thanks, Mom! Autumn and adventures … always fun. If you feel up to it, maybe we can visit the farmers market when you come to visit. Best pretzels anywhere! People watching. Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

SBC Voices

Southern Baptist News & Opinion

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

LynnRMitchell.com

Virginia politics and more

